Thursday, November 04, 2010

baze.djunkiii charts 11/2010

01. Prinzhorn Dance School - Seed, Crop, Harvest / Off The Radar, Off The System[DFA Records
It's not the biggest secret that Prinzhorn Dance School are one of my favorite bands ever and with this 7"-release they're dropping two more of their raw, typical, minimalistic PostPunk- / Indie-bombs. Hope there's a new album to come as well.

02. Jody "Fingers" Finch - Jack Your Big Booty [Let's Pet Puppies 004]
The label print says "Recorded in Chicago at BM Recording Studio 1986 / 2009" and according to the sound of this 12" this might be for real. Jackin' ChicagoHouse to the fullest and defo not to miss if you're an oldskool aficionado. Derrick Carter is on board as well, serving a re-work of "BHQ No Acid Vocal".

03. Deekline & Ed Solo feat. DJ Assault - Bass To Make Your Booty Move [Booty Breaks 014]
Something went wrong with this 12" for sure as the tracklisting announces three tracks but only two are included. No matter what "Bass To Make Your Booty Move" is a simple, but very effective and stick-in-your-ear tune that works with NuSkoolBreaks-addicts as well with all other kind of club-goers due to a seductive hook line and DJ Assault's trademark raps which are not that explicit as one might have expected. "Handz Up *Stanton Warriors Remix" is featured as "Westbam VIP Edit" on the flip - proper functional quality but not sticking out that much.

04. Patrick Chardronnet - Rhythm & Soul [Two Birds 005]
Some jackin' TechHouse with a quite uptempo feeling to it pressed on a snow white 10". A release that would've well fitted to the Poker Flat-catalogue as well, even more when turning to the flip and seeing Jackmate on remix duties.

05. Saalschutz - Entweder Saalschutz [Audiolith Promo]
See review for details...

06. Raw Trax For Smooth People [RDLGI 001]
One sided 12", limited to 300 hand-numbered copies. Includes two tracks of freaky House music for those who know. While WLDBTCH's "Dr. Vinyl's Groove (That Just Won't Stop)" is a banging bitch of track D.A.W.I.'s "Blofunk (African Dub)" is on a deeper tip with an ever modulated vocal sample. One of these records only to be played in very special moments when an experience crowd is already on fire and needing only an additional ounce of musical madness to go wild. Recommended and soon to be sought after.

07. Arto Mwambe [LARJ]
LARJ is short for "Live At Robert Johnson" and although I'm not quite sure whether these tracks really have been played live at this venue or not there's no doubt that they will be well appreciated by DeepHouse enthusiasts allover the place due to their warm and embracing feel. Plus: "One Lonely Knight (Extended Live Mix)" is about to please all those who love classic Inner City-chords or the recent of producers like Joris Voorn or Jeroen Verheij. True anthem.

08. John Tejada - Sweat (On The Walls) *The Remixes [Poker Flat Classics 001 Promo]
See review for details...

09. Alland Byallo - Discovaries [Poker Flat Recordings 115 Promo]
See review for details...

10. Aloe Blacc - I Need A Dollar [Stones Throw / Universal Promo]
See review for details...


Blogger Unknown said...

Thanx for charting and the nice words for our release ! You're spot on, that was the reason why we did BLOFUNK ;à

12:46 AM  
Anonymous DAWI said...

Let me second that.

4:08 PM  

Post a Comment

<< Home