Wednesday, May 22, 2019

Exoterm - Exits Into A Corridor [Hubro Music]

Put on the circuit via the Hubro Music-imprint on May 10th, 2k19 is "Exits Into A Corridor", the first album outing by Norwegian / US American group Exoterm consisting of Kristoffer Berre Alberts, Nels Cline, Jim Black and Rune Nergaard, who's responsible both for taking care of the bass as well as all compositional work within the group. United by a love for Jazz, Improvisation and classic Rock Music the four musicians cater a serving of six tracks within roughly 34 minutes playtime on this album, opening with "First Light", a tune fusing ever floating electronic Ambient textures and a deep understanding of Jazz as well as Progressive Rock, whereas the follow up "Forest Mist - Night" brings forth a more uptempo, tribalistic and in parts well-muscular Krautrock-resembling attitude. With "...Back Towards The Car - Night" we see Exoterm picking up on the bassline grooves of its predecessor, working their way through a hounded crescendo, the interlude that is "Moves Away From The Door" indulges in Easy Listening and quality psychedelic BarJazz for about 90 seconds whereas "Two More Times" amalgamates slow, dope Rock drumming, a wall of feedback noise and hefty Desert Blues before an additional saxophone layer brings on an extra twist and the concluding composition "Manufacturing A Smile (Exits Into Corridor)" provides a dreamy, yet dramatic and progressively chaotic, thundering FreeJazz excess for those in the know. Good stuff.

Album artwork on Instagram!


Post a Comment

<< Home