Monday, January 08, 2018

baze.djunkiii Charts 01/2018

01. B12 - Electro-Soma [Warp Records]
There's not many words to describe this classic. One of the most important Ambient / IDM / Intelligent Techno albums of all time, dating back to 1993 and part of the legendary "Artificial Intelligence"-series, is now back on the circuit, remastered and about to amaze and awe a new generation of electronic music lovers as well as those who missed out on this masterpiece when it was originally released. Essential!

02. DJ Bwin - Trinity [Hundert 002]
The second release on the German Hundert-imprint which made it into my box for its A-side track "Herodot" only - a great piece of slo-mo Future Jungle for heaving bass music, and especially UK Garage, floors featuring a hypnotic, minimalistic main motif and well familiar vocals samples for all the real bass headz out there whilst the flipside caters to the needs of UK Hardcore / Darkside lovers as well as to those being in love with deepest Detroit Techno for a reason.

03. Leroy & Angela Aux - Grain In Vain [Schamoni Musik]
See review for details...

04. AB 2088 [CPU7-003 Whitelabel]
This mysterious stamped whitelabel 7" caters two deep and masterly crafted pieces of floating, fascinating Electro for advanced Ambient floors and Space Night sessions. Pure minimalism meets pure underground for those in the know. Excellent stuff.

05. Twin Peetz - As We Do (Vinyl Version) / Sascha Müller - Terre De Dub 1 [Sascha Müller Music]
See review for details...

06. O3 - Trashumanica [Sofa Music]
See review for details...

07. Sugai Ken - UkabaUmorezU [RVNG Intl.]
See review for details...

08. Marco Resmann feat. Deep Aztec & Black Soda - Babylon Side [Watergate Records 044]
See review for details...

09. Round Two - New Day [Main Street Records]
Classic tune is classic. Another great fusion of proper DeepHouse, soulful GarageHouse vocals and elements of DubTechno amalgamated by the Basic Channel / Hardwax camp over 20 years ago to a timeless effect. Still good and finally in the box.

10. Null + Void - Cryosleep [HFN Music]
The debut album by the Brooklyn-based Swissman Kurt Uenala a.k.a. Null + Void, formerly known as Kap10Kurt and widely recognized as long time collaborator with Depeche Mode, serves a nice range of ten tracks, covering quite a variety of styles from ethereal SynthPop to clean and classy Electro and highly dramatic, partly even score'esque bits like the stunning instrumental workout "Come To Me" which, to us and alongside the eerie and epic vocal anthem "Hands Bound", is one of the most outstanding tunes on this longplay piece which also features bits of masterly crafted Ambient / (Neo)Cosmic alongside more uptempo-flavored tunes. For namedropping reasons one can look forward to hear the likes of Dave Gahan, Black Rebel Motorcycle Club, The Big Pink and Shannon Funchess contributing to this album as well.


Post a Comment

<< Home