Saturday, February 08, 2020

Wako - Wako [Øra Fonogram]

Scheduled for release on February 21st, 2k20 via Øra Fonogram is "Wako", the fourth album by the quartet of the same name - Wako -, comprised of Martin Myhre Olsen, Kjetil Andre Mulelid, Bardur Reinert Paulsen and Simon Olderskog Albertsen. Following up to their 2018-released "Urolige Sinn" the new 13 track longplay piece aims to reflect on and upon the groups experiences as an ever touring quartet, delivering quite a few surprises like the somewhat super romantic, overwhelmingly kitschy score piece "For Those We Love" which functions as a large scale opener for the full on 56 minutes spanning musical journey which furthermore brings epic goodness in modernist Dancefloor Jazz cuts like "Wako Amok", a piece that easily cut've found a place on one of the first three editions of the legendary 'Future Sound Of Jazz' compilation series vibewise despite being completely non-electronic, whereas "Brain Drain" is a quite complex, multi-layered affair of 90 seconds total playtime,"Hele Verden Er En Boble" brings forth a classic, well-driving uptempo swing for jazzfloors on full on fire, the "Grown-Up Life" is a thrilling, piano-led whirlwind of playful, captivating joy and positivity whilst "When Starring Into The Light, We Think", one of the three bonus pieces on this album, even harks back to more formal and intimate slow dancing in an upper class cocktail setting just to name a few of our favorites here. Defo one to check out for all the Jazz lovers out there.


Post a Comment

<< Home