Thursday, May 09, 2013

Smiling Shadows 1998 - 2013: 15 Jahre Major Label [Major Label 060]

A double anniversary to celebrate these days - the 15th year of Major Label in the biz and it's 60th release in a massive catalogue including bands like Guts Pie Earshot, Verbrannte Erde, Kaltfront, Dyse, Brockdorff Klang Labor, Fliehende Stürme and many many more. But that label wasn't major if it would release a simple retrospective of what was. The Leipzig / Jena-based imprint always looks forward and that's why they put together a 24-track compilation with mostly exclusive songs provided by their wide ranged artist stable revolving around the landmarks of PostPunk, (No)Wave, Indie and beyond - all with a raw, unpolished and imminent, straight in yer face attitude. No additional polish, just uncut energy and an overall feeling reminiscing to the grey concrete of the pre-postsocialist era that's referred to as "the 80s" these days. There's rage, there's criticism and there's a will to revolt, to reclaim the streets in a way that means "fight the coppers" in a no no fun manner without being too punk'ish, there's despair, there's darkness and a need for change. Plus: a lot of anarchist humour like in Der Seuchenprinz' "Warane" or Indie'esque melancholia like in Brockdorff Klang Labors "Es". This is a portrait, a piece of history and a document of what it means to be a Major Label that is none. And we like that.


Post a Comment

<< Home