Wednesday, January 09, 2019

Sharon Van Etten - Remind Me Tomorrow [Jagjaguwar Promo]

Scheduled for release via Jagjaguwar on January 18th, 2k19 is "Remind Me Tomorrow", the latest album created by Sharon Van Etten, four years after releasing the predecessor "Are We There". Already announced on these pages in November 2k18 via the video for the massive "Come Back Kid" the album brings forth ten brand new songs, opening with "I Told You Everything" and its beautiful, spatial, yet intimate piano intro which leads into a touching, droning and Downbeat infused ballad of sorts whereas "No One's Easy To Love" brings forth a thrilling mixture of smoky seduction, Alternative and bits of midtempo funkiness whilst "Memorial Day" tampers with ethereal vocals and brooding, yet dreamy electronic darkness somehow reminiscent of Alt.Pop of the early to mid 90s. With "Jupiter 4" we see Sharon Van Etten employing beautiful organic vintage synth basslines as a backing for a longing, well intimate slow jam, "Seventeen" covers classic PowerPop realms alongside a highly catchy minor scale piano motif and "Malibu" provides a raspy, large scale 80s-flavored ballad never to leave the very core of our hearts again. Furthermore "You Shadow" is a massive bop sportings suprisingly heavy guitar / bass distortions, "Hands" provides an unsettling, narcotic soundtrack for Alternative nightmares and the final song that is "Stay" is an inward looking affair for lazy late summer afternoons for sure. Good stuff.

Promo artwork on Instagram!


Post a Comment

<< Home