Thursday, June 13, 2019

Fredrik Rasten - Six Moving Guitars [Sofa Music]

Released via the Norwegian label Sofa Music on May 31st, 2k19 is Frederik Rasten's debut album "Six Moving Guitars" which is the result of a conceptual and performance related collaboration of three dancers and three guitarists, employing elaborate choreographic strategies to achieve results in specific sounds and interferences of the six instruments involved in the recording of the album. Musically the five tracks spread over a total playtime of 38 minutes offer a very close up and intimate listening experience throughout which we see each single instrument following a distinct, quite repetetive pattern which - due to varying intervals of repetition and tuning - interfere with eachother in a variety of ways, delivering quite interesting tonal shifts, off kilter outbreaks and rhythmic changes, slowly revealing different layers of the individual composition whilst still providing a quite naturalistic and overall harmonic soundscape even for the curious, non-musically educated listener who might not be able to follow the theoretical approach behind the album concept. Define: total calmness.

Album artwork on Instagram!


Post a Comment

<< Home