Saturday, November 05, 2022

Wako - Ut Av Det Nye [Øro Fonogram 195]

Coming in from Norway and once again put out on the circuit via Øra Fonogram is "Ut Av Det Nye", the October 28th, 2k22 released album by Wako and the follow up to their self-titled 2020 longplay effort. Over the course of nine new pieces and roughly 41 minutes of playtime the band, still consisting of Kjetil Mulelid, Martin Myhre Olsen, Bardur Reinert Paulsen and Simon Olderskog Albertsen, celebrates its tenth anniversary by a return to its roots as a purely acoustic quartet, once again exploring the tender, soft and intricate side of the Jazz genre driven by oftentimes meandering, highly expressive piano lines provided by Kjetil Mulelid whilst drifting away into slightly Bossa x Brazil-infused, top tier Easy Listening territories garnished with playful sax expressions in cuts like "Pleb Yalu", going down a lane of late night ballads in "Alice" or the tender miniature that is "Løgmannabreyt" whereas "Alt Det Vi Tapte" taps into the more dramatic side of Wako's musical work before closing things out with the soft, stripped down melancholia of "Vi Sendte Dem Alle Bort" just to name a few. If tender, most beautiful Jazz music for late night listening is your jam, this one shouldn't go unnoticed for a reason.


Post a Comment

<< Home